Athletes and Parents

Fall Sports

Football

Varsity Head Coach: Chad Nightingale

Contact: cnightingale@salesian.com; (510 234-4433 ext 1015


Varsity Assistant Coach: Marcus Julian '84

Contact: mjulian@salesian.com; (510) 234-4433 ext 1311

JV Head Coach: David Jobe '01

Contact: djobe@salesian.com; (510) 234-4433 ext 1946


Girls Volleyball

Varsity Head Coach: Michelle McNamara

Contact: mmcnamara90@gmail.com

Cross Country

Varsity Head Coach: Gabe Rhoades

Contact: grhoades@salesian.com; (510) 234-4433 ext 1212

JV Head Coach: Zach Boyett '13

Contact: zboyett@salesian.com; (510) 234-4433 ext 1410

Girls Tennis

Varsity Head Coach: Gary Hazard

Contact: ghazard@salesian.com

Winter Sports

Boys Basketball

Varsity Head Coach: Bill Mellis


Coach Bill Mellis is in his 21st year (2018-2019) as the Varsity Head Coach of the Boys’ Basketball Program at Salesian College Preparatory. Coach Mellis has an overall record of 502-151 and has led the Salesian Boys’ Basketball Team to 11 League Titles, 8 Section Titles, 3 Northern California Titles and 2 State Championships. This past season, Coach Mellis led The Pride to one of their best seasons ever, with a record of 30-2. During his tenure, Coach Mellis has received eight Coach of the Year awards from various media outlets, including the High School Coach of the Year for the entire State of California by ESPN Rise Cal-Hi Sports in 2012.

Contact: wmellis@salesian.com; (510) 234-4433 ext 1010

Varsity Assistant Coach: David Jobe '01

Contact: djobe@salesian.com; (510) 234-4433 ext 1946

JV Head Coach: Glen Graham

Freshmen Head Coach: Jesmer Lorenzo

Girls Basketball

Varsity Head Coach: Steve Pezzola '74


Steve Pezzola has been the head coach of the girls’ varsity team at Salesian College Preparatory High School since the Fall of 2009. He has been with the Orinda Magic AAU girl’s basketball club since the Summer of 2007. 2017/18 is his 9th year with Salesian with a record of 212 wins and 55 losses in his first 8 years.

His Salesian teams have been to the Division 4 state championship game twice (2012 and 2013) and the Open Division state championship game (2014). His teams have won the NorCal Division 4 twice, and the NorCal Open Division once.

Under his leadership the Pride girls have won numerous NCS Division Titles (2012, 2015, 2016 and 2017) and have won or have been co-champion of their league the last six years (since 2012). He has received various Coach of the Year awards, including Bay Area News Group East Bay Girls COY in 2014, NorCal Preps Div 4 Coach of the Year in 2015 and Cal Hi Sports State Division 4 Coach of the Year in 2016.

Coach Pezzola is a graduate of Salesian where he played basketball and ran cross country. He received a B.S. from the University of California at Berkeley with highest honors, and his law degree from the University of California at Berkeley (Boalt Hall).

Contact: spezzola@salesian.com; (510) 234-4433 ext 1110

JV Head Coach: Bill Treseler

Contact: btreseler@salesian.com; (510) 234-4433 ext 1404

Boys Varsity Soccer

Varsity Head Coach: Joseph Bacchus

Contact: jbacchus@salesian.com

Girls Varsity Soccer

Varsity Head Coach: Jeff Linidquist

Contact: jlindquist@salesian.com

Spring Sports

Baseball

Varsity Head Coach: Nick Boyett '12

Contact: nboyett@salesian.com; (510) 234-4433 ext 7218

Varsity Assistant Coach: Zach Boyett '13

Contact: zboyett@salesian.com; (510) 234-4433 ext 1410

JV Head Coach: Matt Donoghue '13

Softball

Varsity Head Coach: Abraham Gomez

Contact: gomezabraham95@gmail.com

Golf

Varsity Head Coach: Marcus Julian '84

Contact: mjulian@salesian.com; (510) 234-4433 ext 1311

Track & Field

Varsity Head Coach: Chad Nightingale

Contact: cnightingale@salesian.com; (510) 234-4433 ext 1015

Assistant Coach: Jahvid Best '07

Swimming and Diving

Varsity Head Coach: Gabe Rhoades

Contact: grhoades@salesian.com; (510 234-4433 ext 1913


Boys Tennis

Varsity Head Coach: Gary Hazard

Contact: ghazard@salesian.com

Boys Volleyball

Varsity Head Coach: Tony Hoh

Contact: thoh@salesian.com

Athletic Director
Chad Nightingale
cnightingale@salesian.com
or (510) 234-4433 ext. 1015